I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 02, 2024, 09:39:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  More from Devon - what can I do during treatment?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: More from Devon - what can I do during treatment?  (Read 3063 times)
devon

« on: February 11, 2008, 08:40:33 AM »

WOW!  Thanks to all of you that replied to my introduction! I really am thankful for the warm welcome. It was exactly what I needed to raise my spirits! Thank you!

My first question is: What can I expect to be able to do during the dialysis treatments?

I spoke with my boss about this issue. I am a programmer and documentation writer. He immediately suggested a laptop and I told him I would research this matter. Is typing at the keyboard and using a mouse possible while undergoing dialysis? If so, what hints about making it easier? And if not, what CAN I do during treatment?

I have two unfinished plays, a book about the adoption of my son and dealing with his RAD, ODD, and PSTD and, of course, my programming and documentation work. So, I have much to do that could be done during these hours. I'm open to suggestions.

And thanks again. I believe I've found a nice comfortable place here at IHD. I'm less frightened and intimidated the more I read here.
tweetykiss

« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 09:19:56 AM »

I say go for it and I am glad your boss will let you work from the treatment room...now be prepared to see rest of the people sleeping or watching TV unless it is only at my husband's center that this goes on.  My husband talks to the staff or watches TV since the lights and the beeping won't let him sleep. ;D

Husband started hemo dialysis on July 30, 2007
devon