I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 01, 2024, 12:33:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  New to Dialysis Social Work
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: New to Dialysis Social Work  (Read 4920 times)
BJBerhorst

« on: October 25, 2007, 12:05:32 PM »

I have been a social worker for 4 years working in the acute care side of the hospital. I recently took a position (6 months ago) as a Dialysis Social Worker for a hospital with 3 units. I knew nothing of Dialysis coming in and have been very fortunate that patients have taken the time to educate me. I enjoy the relationships and bond that can be formed in the dialysis setting as opposed to the acute care setting. I have an excellent coworker with 4.5 yrs of Dialysis Social Work and she is very helpful and seems to understand the diverse needs and wishes of most dialysis patients. I am looking for ways to help support the dialysis patient and their families/caretakers and my leaders suggested i join this chat.

Thanks to everyone here i am sure i will find great information and ideas. 
kitkatz
Member for Life

« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2007, 05:19:06 PM »

Welcome to the site.  It is good to see someone who works with patients looking for informaiton.

kitkatz,moderator

lifenotonthelist.com

Ivanova: "Old Egyptian blessing: May God stand between you and harm in all the empty places you must walk." Babylon 5

Remember your present situation is not your final destination.

Take it one day, one hour, one minute, one second at a time.