I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 06:46:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  PET & Adequacy Strangeness
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: PET & Adequacy Strangeness  (Read 2638 times)
pinkyD

« on: October 18, 2018, 04:01:42 AM »

I have been doing PD for just about 4 years now and my clinic is making everyone redo their PET tests. My results have come back as "low average". My PET when I first started pegged me at "high average". Everyone is kind of dumbfounded as to how this is so. I always thought that transport status goes low-->high and not the other way around. This would explain why my adequacy has fluctuated so much in the past year requiring adjustments to my prescription several times. Well, I just did my adequacy for the quarter, and it was low again. In fact, the drop was so significant that my nurse is making me repeat it. I'm so confused as to what is going on. I'm afraid that it might be the beginning of the end of PD, even though the membrane seems to have gotten "better" ( not quite sure how to word it).

Any thoughts?

*previously known as pinky_22*
Paul
Elite Member

That's another fine TARDIS you got me into Stanley

« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2018, 04:19:10 AM »

What is a PET test? I just tried querying Google and the only results it gave were for a test on how well you speak English (as a foreign language). I cannot see how that would be pertinent, so am assuming it is something different.

Whoever said "God does not make mistakes" has obviously never seen the complete bog up he made of my kidneys!
pinkyD

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 04:41:28 AM »