I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 08:59:09 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  Deciding to Leave PD
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Deciding to Leave PD  (Read 7961 times)
stronger1017

« on: April 17, 2018, 01:02:06 PM »

My name is Osagie. I’m a designer working with a medical manufacturing company to revamp their in-home PD machine. My team and I just finished an initial round of interviews that took us to PD patients all over the county – it was super enlightening to hear different stories in different regions of the US. We’re now looking for ex-PD users, people who could do PD but opted not to, to round out our research. We’d like to hear about what worked / what didn’t work / what could be improved for those who at one time were on a PD therapy but decided to deal with their kidney issues with another treatment. I know this is an obviously sensitive issue but if you're willing to share let me know by replying to this thread. Thanks guys

Sp mod Cas
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 03:54:35 PM by cassandra » Logged
KarenInWA
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2018, 02:12:30 PM »

I chose to not do PD  because the idea of being hooked up to a machine for hours every single night depressed me.  And it's not just the 8-10 hours, there's also the set-up, storage, and all the time associated with keeping it running. I just couldn't see myself doing that and being dictated by a nightly machine. I live alone, so I feel it would have contributed to some major social isolation.

KarenInWA

1996 - Diagnosed with Proteinuria
2000 - Started seeing nephrologist on regular basis
Mar 2010 - Started Aranesp shots - well into CKD4