I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 06:39:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  Living with PD
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Living with PD  (Read 2828 times)
stronger1017

« on: February 21, 2018, 05:19:57 PM »

Hey guys,

My name is Osagie. I'm a designer working with a medical manufacturing company to revamp their inhome PD machine.

As I've immersed myself in the lives and stories of a few PD users, I've caught a glimpse of the tension facing this community every day - the angst between the gritty reality of navigating life with this condition and the hope that in just a moment it can all change. This is especially pertinent because my friend's dad is just now starting to experience his own kidney issues .

Not having kidney issues myself, I know empathy can only go so far. I'd like to hear more about the frustrations, gripes, victories, challenges, and milestones of other people who have lived with an inhome PD treatment. I know this is an obviously sensitive issue but if you're willing to share let me know by replying to this thread.

Thanks guys.
Charlie B53
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2018, 02:52:11 AM »

Hi Osagie,

I did PD for 3 1/2 years before I screwed up and must have given myself an infection that simply refused to die.  My cath had to come out and a hemo cath was placed.  I've been on Hemo just over a year now.  Had my fistula created, a lot of work on it in order to develope well enough to be of use.  So I should be having my chest cath removed most any day now.