I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 06:08:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Hi, I'm Katherine
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hi, I'm Katherine  (Read 5759 times)
Rainsbury

« on: July 03, 2017, 11:40:21 PM »

I've been kicking around this site for several years now. I was first diagnosed with chronic kidney disease, about 5 years ago. The docs assume it was from longtime lithium use, although I haven't taken that medication for a decade. I'm 55, single and have little family support. Since being diagnosed I've felt my health could plummet any day. Its been stressful, but I've been hanging in there. I think that doing my best to adhere to a ckd-friendly diet has helped. For so long I stopped working and making plans, assuming Doomsday was around the corner. I've since adopted a more hopeful attitude and have started working full-time again.
My nephrologist referred me for an evaluation, but because I suffered a serious bout of depression, and smoked pot for fibromyalgia, I was denied evaluation by the transplant team. I've seen a counselor, and have stopped the use of marijuana, but I'm not sure I'll have another opportunity for an evaluation. I feel alone and afraid, but the more I learn from people actually doing dialysis, the less barbaric it seems, and the more courageous I feel.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 12:05:22 AM by Rainsbury » Logged

Katherine

Stage 4, Pre-dialysis

"Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible."
- Francis of Assisi
cassandra
Elite Member

When all else fails run in circles, shout loudly

« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 12:15:30 AM »

Welcome to the site Katherine

:welcomesign;