I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 10:47:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  Scheduling issues...when to eat
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Scheduling issues...when to eat  (Read 4962 times)
ShaenaShepherd

Do not go gentle into that good night...

« on: June 19, 2017, 03:04:55 PM »

Hi. I am very new to home PD. Just started doing it this weekend. My only issue so far is scheduling when to eat and how much. I'm supposed to do the treatments 3 times a day with 4-hour dwell times. Now, doing math, that's a total of 12 hours dwell time. Half the day. Accounting for sleep being 7-8 hours, that only leaves about 4-ish hours of "freedom".
If I eat just before I fill, I have a hard time putting more than 1500ml in (I'm supposed to do 2000). If I don't eat, I get hungry while I'm dwelling and then feel REALLY full if I eat then. I've tried eating smaller portions between treatments, but I'm afraid I won't get the proper nutrition if I just "snack". I'm really having a difficult time with this. Any suggestions?
Charlie B53
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2017, 04:55:14 AM »

Physical injuries and the lack of mobility had caused me to gain substantial weight.  PD and feeling 'full' all the time has helped me lose a bunch of that weight.  Not all, but enough I feel, and look, much better.

I used Ico for a 12 hour dwell all night when doing manuals, then all day while using the Cycler at night.

I couldn't eat near as much as I was used to eating.  But I was used to eating as I did while actively working.  Once disabled this was far too much food and I was gaining weight.