I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 01:55:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Off-Topic
| |-+  Off-Topic: Talk about anything you want.
| | |-+  Missing Garage Door Opener
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Missing Garage Door Opener  (Read 2263 times)
Charlie B53
Elite Member

« on: March 16, 2016, 07:16:18 PM »

When we bought this house 20 years ago one garage door opener is wayyyyy older than the other one.  It worked fine, but the remote didn't.  Even with with a new battery.  Since I am a Mechanic, I will mess with anything, so I told apart the remote, and the main control box on the wall in the garage.  I made sure the 9 dip switches where all set the same, still would work.  Si I started screwing with it, literally.  The each have a 'choke' coil that sets the frequency of the radio.  These 'choke coils' have a little bitty hole in the top and if you look carefully you can see a slot, like for an itty bitty screw driver to screw the thing up and down.  So I started screwing with them, both.  I must be lucky, or something because the door opened, and closed.  I walked down our long driveway screwing with the remote, opening and closing the door til I thought I was going to overheat the motor.  But I GOT IT.  All the way down to the mailbox.  I found out later one time comeing home from Daughters house after spending the weekend down there a few things. 1. The door was open.  2. The button on the remote was stuck, (I fixed that immediately). and 3. My Harley and BIG red toolbox with many thousands of dollars of tools were both still inside.  Remember, I'm a Mechanic, I have at least one of everything all nice and shiny chrome, AND air tools (lots) and just a whole LOT of stuff I would kill for.