I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 03:20:50 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  CAPD: How safe is it to use 4.25% solution?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CAPD: How safe is it to use 4.25% solution?  (Read 3380 times)
kickingandscreaming
Elite Member

« on: February 07, 2016, 05:21:37 PM »

Lately, I have had a couple of instances where I needed to use 4.25% to get off some fluids--quickly. Usually, I am not a good producer of UF.  I am getting good solute clearance, but not a lot of fluid comes off when I use 1.5 or 2.5. Usually I'm not very fluidy.  I think I'm a fast transporter, but I have yet to do a PET, so I'm just guessing about that.  I have read that 4.25 is a culprit in wrecking the peritoneum over time.  I am trying NOT to use it, but clearly it is needed at times.  What are your thoughts on this?

Diagnosed with Stage 2 ESRD 2009
Pneumonia 11/15
Began Hemo 11/15 @6%
Began PD 1/16 (manual)
Began PD (Cycler) 5/16
Charlie B53
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 06:09:07 AM »

No experience.  I've used the 4/5% only once.

I was taught during training that the higher concentration of sugar in the 4 1/2% mixture does contribute to an earlier failure of the membrane to function.

Cannot tell high soon that would be as everyone is a bit different.

Wondering more why the need?  Are you fluid restricted or the better question may be, SHOULD you be?  Wet foods does contribute so much more fluid, as well as hidden salts driving us to thirst, conspire to increase the water loading and increase demand for dialysis removal.