I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2024, 06:56:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Spouses and Caregivers
| | |-+  All consuming anxiety
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: All consuming anxiety  (Read 3597 times)
AlexsMom

« on: June 11, 2014, 01:16:21 AM »

Hello, I am new here and this is my first post aside from my intro post I made last month. I am new at this caregiver thing as my 3 year old son had his very first sign of kidney disease a year ago and just started PD dialysis in April.

I am having a huge issue with anxiety which has never been a problem for me. I am consumed with the fear of my child dying. I do not sleep as I am in his room every 30 minutes or so checking to make sure he is still breathing and alive. It reminds me of how it is bringing home a newborn and how for the first few nights you watch them intently, terrified of SIDS or suffocation or whatever. However, these fears of mine now have a very real basis as he does have a life threatening disease so my terror is multiplied tenfold.

He goes to his nephrologists twice a week right now as he is dependent on albumin infusions to stay well and so, twice weekly he is having full blood work done. But I am still so scared that they are going to miss something and I cannot get the vision of walking into his room and seeing him pale and stiff in his Thomas the Train bed out of my head. I know this is abnormal and I need help from a professional but between his 6 hour long albumin infusions twice a week and then his autism therapies the other 3 days a week, who has time for that?!