I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 07, 2024, 02:28:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Post-Dialysis Fatigue Question (from the perspective of a student)
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Post-Dialysis Fatigue Question (from the perspective of a student)  (Read 4544 times)
OTstudent

« on: April 16, 2014, 07:06:48 AM »

Hi Everyone!!

First off, thank you for accepting my request to be apart of this discussion board. I am a graduate occupational therapy student at a university in the Midwest. As part of a program development class, my group and I decided to look into support, programs, and what else is out there for individuals that undergo dialysis treatment (we found a lack of support groups in our surrounding area). We know that dialysis can be extremely exhausting and has the potential to really prevent participation in every day life. We are in hopes to develop a program that can make things a little easier or help out with any problems that you guys feel might need some consideration. I have a couple questions, if you can kindly answer them to help us out:

1. What is a typical day like after dialysis treatment? What is a day like the day after dialysis?
2. Do you experience any difficulties in daily tasks? Specifically, cooking and preparing meals?
3. What tasks are the hardest to complete after treatment?
4. What do you typically do (strategies) to conserve your energy?
5. What are your biggest concerns with undergoing dialysis treatment?

We would really really appreciate your time and efforts to help us learn more about you all.
Thank you very much.

-OTstudent
cdwbrooklyn

Positive Thoughts equal Positive Energy