I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 11:05:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: F.A.Q. (Frequently Asked Questions)
| | |-+  Question for Veterans
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Question for Veterans  (Read 4833 times)
Wat76

This Too Shall Pass

« on: August 21, 2012, 12:45:05 PM »

Are there any Vets on hear that uses VA Hospitals as their main treatment facility.  If so, are you allowed to do PD and the VA Hospital pick up the tab.  I am going to an outside facility to do In Center Hemo, However, would like to do PD.  Is this allowed.

PKD: PD started in February 2011.
Live, Laugh and Love daily.
iketchum

« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 07:27:07 PM »

Hello. I am a Navy vet and go to the VA hospital here in Maine. They do not do PD here. I think they are considering it at some time though.
Willis

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 08:53:45 PM »

I'm a vet and I do PD through a private facility. I do not have insurance and didn't have any prior to going on PD. If you paid into Social Security for at least 40 quarters (10 years cumulative) and you have ESRD then you are automatically qualified for Medicare. Medicare will pay for your  PD cath surgery and PD training if you start your PD training by the end of the month you have your surgery (i.e., schedule your surgery the first week of any month, then start your PD that month and they will pay retroactively to the first of that month). Once on Medicare, except for quarterly premiums, they will pay for all PD services and meds directly related to the PD. Other meds you'll still have to pay for but for those you can definitely use your local VA center or at least get a Part D policy.