I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 18, 2024, 01:43:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Hello from Chicago
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hello from Chicago  (Read 1840 times)
cattlekid
Elite Member

« on: February 08, 2011, 10:50:00 AM »

Hello everyone! 

I am so happy that I have found this message board.  I am new to dialysis and am looking for as much real-life information as possible.

I was diagnosed with IGA Nepropathy in 1999.  My kidney function has been very stable up until sometime between September and December 2010.  In that time, my kidneys failed to the point where my creatine was up to over 9.  The creatine was going back down but not enough.  I had a catheter put in on January 25th and started dialysis that day. 

I can't believe how much better I feel now that I am on dialysis.  I have a transplant intake appointment scheduled for February 28th and my neph says that I should be a good candidate as I have no other health issues other than the IGA Nepropathy.  I also have 25 aunts and uncles and 20 first cousins so I should have plenty of choices for live donors, if they are willing to be tested. 

My only complaint so far is that I really have no information to go on from the dialysis center as to what I should/shouldn't be doing.  From what was explained to me in the hospital, they should have social workers, dietitians etc.  Well, so far I have only seen the techs and the clinic manager.  Should I be asking when I should be meeting with the social workers and dietitians? 

I look forward to learning a lot here!
galvo
Member for Life

« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2011, 04:40:36 PM »

G'day, cattlekid, and  :welcomesign;. You'll get plenty of good advice, here.