I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 22, 2024, 06:20:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Spouses and Caregivers
| | |-+  Laying the Line
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Laying the Line  (Read 3066 times)
zendadachick

« on: October 29, 2010, 12:48:55 PM »

A little background on me: I am a college student helping out my aunt the first month of her dialysis.  She is 75.  This is our 2nd week on CAPD.

Today was when my aunt and I agreed that she will do her entire dialysis by herself with me watching her.

When we first started she took her own blood pressure, weighed herself, and recorded it in her flow sheet.

She then heated up her solution bag. She then gave the bag to me and said could you do it because I don't feel well. I said, "No, you need to learn to do it yourself and if I keep doing it the longer it is for you to learn it." She kept begging making moaning sounds and excuses saying that her back hurts (the reason why her back hurts is because she lays down all day and night in bed watching tv).

So we sat there and she did nothing. I asked her why does she not want to do her own dialysis and she said she didn't feel well. That's all she kept saying. So I called the nurse and told her symptoms and the nurse said she's fine but she needs to learn to do it herself.

I told my aunt, "It's up to you. It's your dialysis and if you don't do it, then that's your choice. If you don't start doing it yourself today, I will call the clinic and tell them you are not a good candidate for home dialysis and switch to hemodialysis in hospital."