I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 04, 2024, 08:21:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  my story
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: my story  (Read 2058 times)
kimi_g89

« on: October 19, 2010, 12:05:28 PM »

My name is Kimi, I am 21 years old and I am new to dialysis. Since I was 12 I knew about my kidney problems, but when I was 18 I quit going to the doctor cuz I believed that if I didn't think about it then it didn't exist. Which was completely stupid I know now. A week after my 21st birthday I got hospitalized with pnemonia and kidney failure. I had a catherter placed in my chest to do dialysis, which I hate because it makes it hard to shower. I was hoping to get a fistula put in, but I am on a blood thinner so I can't get the procedure done till I'm off it. A week after I got out of the hospital for my pnemonia, I ended back up in there cuz I have blood clots in my lungs also. I just want to get this catherter out of my chest and be able to do everything I used to. This is a hard thing to get used to, but so far I've been doing ok with the support and love of family and friends. I am glad to have found this site tho, It'll be nice having people to talk and relate to!

Kimi
Hazmat35

« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2010, 12:12:17 PM »

:welcomesign;

This is a great website where you can get a lot of information and compassion; along with a lot of great people, all dealing with the same thing! 

So sorry to hear of your troubles. 

Brother Passed away - 1990 - Liver Disease
Diagnosed w/ Polycystic Kidney Disease - 1998
Mother passed away - Feb. 1999 - PKD
Sister passed away - Feb. 2006 - PKD
AV Fistula / Upper Left Arm - September 2009
Father passed away - September 2009