I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 08:14:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Stacy Without An E - A Dialysis/Transplant Veteran
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Stacy Without An E - A Dialysis/Transplant Veteran  (Read 3004 times)
Stacy Without An E

God's Action Figure

« on: April 24, 2006, 07:35:53 PM »

Hello everyone, my name is Stacy Without An E and it was by chance that I discovered this site.  I have been blogging for the last two years and one of my fellow bloggers left this site in my comments.  Since I have been dealing with kidney disease for the last 25 years, I will try to introduce myself concisely in the next few sentences.

I was diagnosed with glomerulonephritis (inflammation of the glomerular tissue) at the age of 11 and began numerous commutes from my home in Stockton, CA. to UCSF.  On one of the early trips, my Mom sat me down at the Denny's in Pleasanton and explained exactly what was happenning to me.  I remember that day vividly, like a bad dream that's overstayed it's welcome.

I had a graft surgically added to my upper left arm and underwent Dialysis three times total.

It was hell, especially for a young, fragile kid barely in this teens.

They waited as long as they could to allow me to go through puberty and gain some height, but I ended up with my first kidney transplant when I was 13 from my Mom, and it was a huge success.

Never had a rejection episode until 12 years later when I was in my mid 20's.  I had moved back in with my parents (which I don't recommend to anyone) because I was so sick and started five months of agonizing Dialysis.