I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 11:49:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Transplant Discussion
| | |-+  How many people lose their SSDI or SSI after transplant?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How many people lose their SSDI or SSI after transplant?  (Read 6380 times)
unvaso

« on: February 15, 2017, 08:43:38 AM »

I am a social worker at a dialysis clinic, and just finished my yearly assessment with a 30 year old guy who has been on dialysis since he was 14 years old (kidney problems since birth). He is very much against the idea of working, on principle. He idealizes a hippy or gypsy lifestyle. (his words, not mine.) He does work occasionally- under the table, little side jobs for family or friends, but only things that can be done in a few hours, and when he is feeling up to it. 
At his last transplant evaluation attempt (he's had several over the years, but never has gotten past the preliminary appointment), a psychiatrist told him he would lose his SSI after a year and "what's the point of giving you a transplant, if you don't plan to work? We only give transplants to people if it would improve their quality of life."  Although he strongly dislikes dialysis, he feels pretty comfortable with his life outside of dialysis.  Aside from the burden of dialysis and the side effects he experiences afterwards, he states he is content with his quality of life overall.  He doesn't want to sacrifice it by getting a transplant and being forced to work.
I assume that if he got a transplant, he would continue being eligible for SSI, based on his other medical conditions- bone pain, migraines, etc.