I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 10:20:55 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Pre-Dialysis
| | |-+  PLEASE SHARE HOW YOU FEEL WHEN EGFR DROPS >STAGE 4?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: PLEASE SHARE HOW YOU FEEL WHEN EGFR DROPS >STAGE 4?  (Read 6352 times)
MuddyGurl

« on: May 09, 2015, 02:24:33 PM »

Hi newbie here. I have one kidney (lost one to cancer, am cancer free)
I am now teetering in Stage 4 with recent drop under 32 to 29 in Feb. then 26  JUST 30 days later.

I WAS feeling very fatigued, itchy, foot pain which seemed like symptoms of pre diabetes and/or kidney failing.

But I was also low on magnesium,  taking supplement, so itchiness is mostly gone, some toe tingling which could be anything I AM SUPOSEDLY NOT PRE-DIABETIC, BUT I THINK I AM BASED ON DR. BERNSTEINS BOOK.

My BG is considered normal, but I know being over 100  (103-130) all the time fasting or not is not good, HAiC  is 5.4…ideally Id be at 4.4 or so.

I am obese by charts, short, so losing weight has helped in many ways, but Neph has said no way food with alter my function.

OTHERS here have said it HAS helped to be on a veggie diet, lower protein etc.

I am TRYING to figure out WHAT failing function feels like to YOU. Will you share your thoughts and experiences please?

What did you notice entering Stage 4, at whatever number?

Did a diet change or meds change help? or raise eGFR at all?

While CKD is silent, I am fully aware how serious this is, and am not a passive patient justt waiting for bad news.

ANYTHING YOU CAN SHARE WILL BE APPRECIATED.
++++++++++++++++++++++