I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 05:08:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Mommy of a two year old on dialysis
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Mommy of a two year old on dialysis  (Read 3089 times)
TeamTinyTank

« on: January 14, 2015, 11:58:17 AM »

I'm new to the world of dialysis.  On Dec. 26th 2014, my husband and I took our two year old son to the E.R. at the Children's hospital in Dallas, Tx.  We had gone to a local E.R. but they immediately told us to go there instead.  The next day, he had surgery to have a catheter so he could undergo dialysis. Two days later he had a biopsy of his kidney... FSGS.  He will need a kidney transplant and we do not even know if the new kidney will be affected or not.  :(

I did not even know children could be on dialysis at this point.  I was unaware of kidney disease and the signs and symptoms of it.  We were blindsided.  My son had only been sick that week (with the flu) when we noticed his feet swelling.  Other than this time of him being sick, he had never been sick before.  He was always underweight and height for his age but we assumed that since both of us (his parents) were really small as children that he was just going to be a small child too.  Months before this, we did take him in for a check-up because we were concerned that he was not eating well and not gaining any weight since his two year checkup.  We had also noticed his eyes seemed puffy some days and usually in the mornings.  We assumed it was allergies and the pediatrician did not seem too concerned about it.