I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 10:37:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  weight gain on pd
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: weight gain on pd  (Read 4304 times)
skinnacat

« on: February 15, 2015, 12:44:56 PM »

so i have been doing pd dialysis for almost 3 months now and i seemed to put the most weight on the first month
of treatment...i gained 5 pounds in one month and then i was not happy...to say the least so i really tried to pay
attention to what i was eating and have managed to put 2 pounds on the last 2 months
it just sucks because i am a chunky girl to begin with and every pound is like 10 for me...i was'
wondering how much weight other people on pd have put on while on pd???
oh and i never count the 5 pounds of fluid i carry in my tummy cuz that dont count ;D 
Charlie B53
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 01:16:33 PM »

I lost almost 40 pounds of water in my first couple of weeks on PD.  Went from a bloated puffy 310 back to my normally fat 270.

Over the last almost two years I've been carrying 2 liters of fluid, the pressure on my stomach has seriously reduced my appetite.  I found that eating slowly I do not eat nearly as much as I used to.  I feel full much quicker and have managed to lose another 40 pounds.  233 this morning AFTER filling with 2 liters of Ico.

Don't stress so much about your weight.  Pay more attention on HOW you eat.  Take your time, chew every bite slowly and enjoy it.  You will find that you are satisfied sooner, and do not want near as much.  Give this a year and see the difference.