I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 05:09:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Another newbie here - hi !
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Another newbie here - hi !  (Read 3302 times)
mysticnight

« on: June 26, 2014, 06:12:16 AM »

Hey guys,

I am new to this site, and dialysis. I gotta say, love the title of this group - ihatedialysis! so appropriate.
Nice to meet you all, and sorry to meet you all, being that this group means kidney failure.
I have a very long weird story, but it ends about two months ago I thought I had the flu and was in bed for weeks, just sleeping and no energy. My abdomen and feet blew up huge. I suspected something was wrong, but had lost all faith in doctors by this time, not getting one diagnosis/treatment right with me over the years.  My bf dragged me to the ER, where I was diagnosed with kidney failure, some cirrhosis of the liver (chronic hep C), zero thyroid function, and hemoglobin/iron and all that was dangerously low. 10 days in the hospital with emergency dialysis, iron, blood transfusions, and too many pills.

All along my symptoms were GI related and I always believed something was causing that and kidney/liver problems. If only a doctor had a brain, they would figure it out. Nope. Just live by lab tests, and "I" am the problem for not following their plans.  While I was in the hospital, the food was so bad, I basically fasted for 10 days, my head and body felt  better than they had in decades! It confirmed my issue was primarily about food and GI problems.