I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 07:34:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Hi! ADPKD patient new to dialysis, nice to meet y'all!
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hi! ADPKD patient new to dialysis, nice to meet y'all!  (Read 3175 times)
BarneyRubble

« on: May 24, 2014, 09:16:48 PM »

Hi,

My name is Barney and I've just started on dialysis.  I'm from southern New England, am a dad, and work with computers for a living.  In my off time I'm a musician (piano & keyboards, mostly), love reading & movies (especially sci-fi & fantasy), and spend as much time with my kids as possible (they grow up so fast!)

My journey started a long time ago.  My mom was first diagnosed with PKD when she was pregnant with me.  She received a living donor transplant when I was in my early twenties, and did very well - I honestly don't recall if she was ever on dialysis or not.  Many years later, 14 years ago, I was diagnosed hypertensive while getting the blood tests for my wedding - one thing led to another, and eventually to an ultrasound, and I got the pre-wedding present from mom:  I also had PKD.  For a long time we managed it with medication and a few tweaks to my diet - my creatinine levels hovered between 1.2-1.4 for a very long time. 

Mom, regrettably, has passed on.  Her kidney was still working great to the end, over 20 years - it was the side effects of the anti-rejection meds (especially the prednisone and cyclosporine) that we think did her in, plus the lovely PKD predisposition to aneurysms.