I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 10:48:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  PD Ettiquete
Pages: 1 [2] Go Down Print
Author Topic: PD Ettiquete  (Read 16024 times)
Deanne
Elite Member

« Reply #25 on: September 11, 2013, 04:25:59 PM »

Thanks for all of these! As a newbie, I was a little worried that I'm not doing things right. I'm very careful, but I have my dogs on the bed while I connect/disconnect. One dog is always burrowed under a blanket and I make sure my other one is blocked by my body so he isn't breathing on anything. I don't close the door, and when I disconnect in the morning, I don't mask or get up to wash my hands first. There's no time for all of that - one of the dogs won't wait go go out. If I don't move my rear, he'll pee in bed. I bought some antibacterial hand wipes to use instead, and I use hand sanitizer. I'm always very careful about where I touch and my center sent me home with some sort of antibacterial cleaner stuff I use on the connections before connecting/disconnecting.

Deanne

1972: Diagnosed with "chronic kidney disease" (no specific diagnosis)
1994: Diagnosed with FSGS
September 2011: On transplant list with 15 - 20% function
September 2013: ~7% function. Started PD dialysis
February 11, 2014: Transplant from deceased donor. Creatinine 0.57 on 2/13/2014
Grumpy-1

Make me the person my dog thinks I am

« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2013, 08:15:27 AM »