I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 05:34:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Medicare/Insurance
| | |-+  prescription/medication coverage after transplant???
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: prescription/medication coverage after transplant???  (Read 6388 times)
marlinfshr

« on: June 29, 2013, 10:32:28 PM »

I'm still new to this whole mess but am trying to look ahead to the future. I have a positive outlook so I believe I will get a transplant and have my initial orientation/screening with the transplant team the beginning of August. I am currently on HD with a tentative appointment for a PD catheter in mid July.

I am trying to see what my best options will be for my medications post transplant as I understand they can be right pricey. Are there any prescription programs I can enroll in now or would it be to late now that I already have been diagnosed with ESRD?
Currently I have BCBS which has been covering everything in hospital or clinic after I reached my out of pocket. I don't have a prescription plan through them though so the meds I'm being prescribed now are all payed for out of my pocket.
I was just approved for SSDI which will kick in in November.
I understand that I should be able to qualify for medicare as well. Would that include prescription "plan D? My SW doesn't recommend applying for it until the end of the year though, because all my out of pocket from BCBS has been payed for the current year.
However, medicare would end 3 years post transplant?
I also don't qualify for any means tested programs such as medicaid and SSI.