I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 10:13:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Diet and Recipes
| | |-+  Weight Watcher's Points for PD solution?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Weight Watcher's Points for PD solution?  (Read 6502 times)
adairpete

Me and Karl

« on: February 14, 2012, 03:45:13 PM »

I've been doing PD for about 18 months (5 months of hemo before that) and since starting PD I've lost ~20lbs thanks to having more energy and feeling better in general.  However, I've been struggling to lose the last 20lbs I need to and recently have joined Weight Watcher's (I've been to 1 meeting so far).  It didn't cross my mind until after the meeting that the daily dialysis solution is probably some points thanks to the 1.5% or 2.5% dextrose in them.  Does anyone know how many points the solutions are?  I will ask at the next WW meeting, but I was curious if anyone here knew the answer as this is where the dialysis experts are and I'm not too confident that the WW people will know what I'm talking about. 

Thanks for any help!
Carolyn

Diagnosis: distal renal tubular acidosis with medullary sponge kidney
3/4/2010 started hemo via sub-clavian catheter
6/15/2010 listed for kidney (on hold)
8/2/2010 started CAPD
3/20/12 on active wait list for kidney
Restorer

« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 12:38:55 PM »

Everyone absorbs a different amount of dextrose, depending on how fast you transport and how long you dwell, but here are some estimates in calories:

1.5% (yellow) manual average 23 calories per litre
2.5% (green) manual average 39 calories per litre
4.25% (red) manual average 66 calories per litre

1.5% cycler 33.5 calories per litre
2.5% cycler 56 calories per litre