I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 06:43:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: F.A.Q. (Frequently Asked Questions)
| | |-+  Dialysis (FAQ) Frequently Asked Questions. READ THIS IF YOU'RE NEW TO DIALYSIS.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dialysis (FAQ) Frequently Asked Questions. READ THIS IF YOU'RE NEW TO DIALYSIS.  (Read 19778 times)
Epoman
Administrator/Owner
Elite Member

Want to help out? Become a Premium Member today

« on: August 06, 2005, 11:14:43 PM »

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or in the medical field, this f.a.q. is just my understanding of kidney failure and all the problems associated with it. You should consult a doctor if you have any concerns. This is not going to be filled with complicated explanations or "Big words" this is going to be explained easy and I am going to try to not use big medical terms often. I want this to be easy to understand by everyone. Feel free to ask any questions you may have or contact me with any mistakes I may have made in creating this f.a.q.

What is Dialysis?

Dialysis is the medical term used to describe the treatment people receive when there own kidneys no longer function. Dialysis is the only way to maintain life until a transplant is given.

What causes Kidney Failure?

The main causes of kidney failure are Diabetes and Poly-cystic Kidney Disease ( A genetic disorder).

There can be many other causes of kidney failure such as:

An Inflammation of the kidney.
Kidney stones.
Kidney cysts.
An immune disorder called systemic lupus erythematosus.
Uncontrolled high blood pressure.
Abuse of drugs.
Many cases of Strep throat as a child or adult.
Cortisone injections.