I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 20, 2024, 02:33:10 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  This is how we use 4 buttonholes
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: This is how we use 4 buttonholes  (Read 1794 times)
Maggie and Jeff

Life as a Pincushion

« on: September 27, 2008, 06:46:11 PM »

I have been sticking Maggie for over 2 years we have an AV fistula and stared using the buttonhole technique from the start.  This is Maggie’s first fistula we see the surgeon every 6 months.

Staring a new buttonhole

This is how I do it:

The needle must be put in the same spot in the vein each time for the first 3-4 weeks so that a tunnel will form from the skin to the vein.   

First use sharps of the size you want the final hole to be for 5-6 consecutive days. 
The consecutive days are very important!!!!

Dulls, for the next 6 days, it's best if you don’t take a day off (but we do some times) for the first 12-14 days. Once the buttonhole is established you will always get the needle in and if done correctly you will not need to use a sharp until you need a new buttonhole.

Now the buttonhole can be used every other day but do not skip more than 3 days until it’s been 4 weeks.

We use 2 sets of buttonholes 2 venous and 2 arterials that way each set gets a day off .  We have been able to use each set for about 6-8 months before we needed to move due to the fistulas size getting bigger in that area.
For example: Tops one day

V<
V
A<
A
Bottoms the next day

V
V<
A
A<