I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 10, 2024, 09:30:37 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: News Articles
| | |-+  The Day Is Too Short (Extended Criteria Kidney Transplant)
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: The Day Is Too Short (Extended Criteria Kidney Transplant)  (Read 1202 times)
okarol
Administrator
Member for Life

Photo is Jenna - after Disneyland - 1988

« on: September 10, 2008, 01:31:45 PM »

The Day Is Too Short

By Mary Lou Newburn

When I was 22 years old, I considered myself a “hotshot.” I was a recent college graduate with great job potential, enthusiastic about travel and adventure…opportunities yet untapped. I could do anything! Even a diagnosis of type 1 diabetes failed to dampen my optimism. I simply ignored it, telling no one, making few diet concessions and proceeding in fast forward mode toward my destiny.

After a few false starts, I finally settled into the teaching profession and established my niche. I loved it and stayed for 25 years, teaching high school English and social studies. I retired, satisfied with my contributions to and for my students, colleagues and community.

However, my diabetes was demanding that I focus on it, and its consequences. My kidneys were failing and denial, while still in place, just wasn’t helping. By this time, I had settled in New Mexico. A nephrologist here monitored my steady deterioration, offering two choices: dialysis or transplantation. I desperately tried to achieve the latter. Two people offered to donate a kidney to me, but in each case, something happened to prevent the donation. Dialysis seemed to be my only option as indifference, itching, weight loss and little appetite for food and life consumed me.