I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 08, 2024, 03:27:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  AVF surgery scheduled for 9/2 -- tips or tricks????
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: AVF surgery scheduled for 9/2 -- tips or tricks????  (Read 7522 times)
cattlekid
Elite Member

« on: August 24, 2011, 05:41:41 PM »

So I have finally bit the bullet and scheduled my AVF surgery for 9/2.  I am really not looking forward to it because the surgeon is going for my wrist to start.  He said that due to the swelling, etc. I will not be able to type for a few days.  Well, buddy, that's what I do for a living.  Seriously, all I do at my job is attend meetings and conference calls and send emails.  If I can't type or knit (my home relaxation), I'm going to go bat-poo crazy. 

Any tips or tricks to make sure that I get back up to full speed as soon as possible?  Or anyone want to give me one-handed typing lessons??   ;D
jbeany
Member for Life

Cattitude

« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2011, 05:52:26 PM »

Elevate, elevate, elevate.  Keep the swelling down as much as possible.  Ask the doc about using cold packs - they may say no, but it's worth asking.  And yes, you will go a bit crazy, but better only going crazy once than having the first one fail and having to start over.  (Been there, done that!)

"Asbestos Gelos"  (As-bes-tos yay-lohs) Greek. Literally, "fireproof laughter".  A term used by Homer for invincible laughter in the face of death and mortality.

gothiclovemonkey
Elite Member

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2011, 05:54:30 PM »

can u type one handed?

"Imagine how important death must be to have a prerequisite such as life" Unknown
HemoDialysis since 2007
TX listed 8/1/11 inactive