I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 11, 2024, 03:26:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  HELP I AM A LITTLE SCARED
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: HELP I AM A LITTLE SCARED  (Read 4975 times)
vanessa

Life is so short live it to the fullest!!!

« on: May 14, 2011, 09:58:12 AM »

HELLO, MY NAME IS VANESSA AND I AM NEW TO ALL OF THIS . I AM 38 YEARS OLD AND I HAVE P.K.D. . I ALSO HAVE JUST BEEN TOLD THAT IT IS TIME FOR ME TO START DIALYSIS. I WENT IN FOR YOUR BASIC VEIN MAPPING AND THE FOUND A BLOOD CLOT IN MY LEFT UPPER ARM AND PUT ME ON LOVENOX APARENTLY I AM IMMUNE TO IT SO NOW THEY HAVE PLACED A PIC LINE IN MY RIGHT UPPER ARM FOR A STRIGHT LINE TO RECIEVE HEPPRIN, THEREFORE NOW I AM GOING TO DO PEROTINEIL DIAYLSIS . I HAVE HAD THE EXAM TO SEE IF I CAN AND WAS APPROVED HOWEVER EVEN THOUGH THE DOCTOR CAN EXPLAIN IT IN HIS WORDS I STILL AM AFRAID. I AM TOLD I WILL HAVE A MACHINE HERE AT HOME I WILL USE AT NIGHT AND THAT I WILL HAVE A BELLY FULL OF GLUCOSE I DONT KNOW ANYONE WHO IS ON OR WHO HAS DONE THIS . COULD SOME ONE TELL ME DOES THE SHUNT HURT? IS IT AS HARD AS THEY SAY TO KEEP CLEAN? COULD SOME ONE TELL ME WHAT TO EXPECT? I AM TO CALL THE HOME DIALYSIS UNIT ON MONDAY AND THE TRANSPLANT CENTER AS WELL MY DR. REFERED ME, THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP VANESSA

vanessa!
willowtreewren
Member for Life

My two beautifull granddaughters

« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2011, 10:51:58 AM »

Hi, Vanessa,

It all seems overwhelming at first, especially if you weren't expecting it. My husband had about 15 years warning with his PKD that dialysis was on the horizon so we were pretty well prepared when the time came and I STILL went into denial there for a bit!