I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 18, 2024, 09:24:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Feeling washed out after dialysis
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Feeling washed out after dialysis  (Read 10101 times)
rnbob

« on: January 13, 2011, 06:31:34 PM »

I am a Dialysis Nurse and see this all too frequently with my patients, I also guess that most of the problems are due to a dry weight set too low-What do you guys think? I came here because I thi8nk there is a wealth of knowlege here that I would like to tap into. Please help me to help my patients.
greg10

« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2011, 07:11:54 PM »

I am a Dialysis Nurse and see this all too frequently with my patients, I also guess that most of the problems are due to a dry weight set too low-What do you guys think? I came here because I thi8nk there is a wealth of knowlege here that I would like to tap into. Please help me to help my patients.
Welcome to the forum.   :welcomesign;
Wrong dry weight is possible.  Another possibility is that many clinics don't seem to practice the ultrafiltration limit rule of 10ml/kg/hr.  That is, if you weight 50 kg, your limit on UF should be no higher than 50kg x 10ml/kg/hr = 500 ml/hr.  Many times you see a one size fits all UF profile for in-clinic dialysis. 

*The following is my own newbie rule for UF limit taking age into consideration.