I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 09, 2024, 10:18:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Home Dialysis
| | |-+  Complications...
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Complications...  (Read 3407 times)
Lovebelle

« on: November 03, 2010, 05:00:01 PM »

So I am new to all of this and when I was in the hospital recently for Kidney failure the Doctors placed both a PD catheter and an AV fistula. Both were done on 10/15/10. I had zero preparation for either procedure since all this ESRF issues was a surprise to me. Even being a nurse I had very little knowledge about dialysis since I normally work with healthy people with Orthopedic issues. Anyway. I spent another 1 1/2 weeks in the hospital after the PD cath was placed. The entire time no one really looked at it (just checked dressing) and every time I inqired they said they would do flush in outpatient.

Fast forward to now. So I went to outpatient for the first time and the PD nurse tried to instill solution into the PD catheter (mind you this is now 2 weeks post op). NO Go, solution wouldnt budge. So She me return on Monday to try to clear the line with activase. But there was so much resistance she couldnt manually push the medicine in. So she tried changing the outter part of catheter and after that managed to get the activase in. Shortly after however I started having some abdominal cramping (similar to severe gas pressure). But I still waited the hour and went back to the PD nurse and told her about the pain, wondering if it was coincidental (I mean it was only maybe 2mL of activase). She decided to try the diasylate solution again by gravity and it worked but with resistance and very slow.