I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 11, 2024, 02:44:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Centers
| | |-+  I've started volunteering at my centre
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I've started volunteering at my centre  (Read 5106 times)
Adam_W
Elite Member

Me with Baron von Fresenius

« on: April 23, 2009, 06:26:13 PM »

Because I have absolutely nothing to do during the day (when I'm not dialyzing), I've started going into my centre to talk to patients and help the staff. Because it's a home training unit, it's a more laid back atmosphere which I really enjoy. I've been doing this off and on for the last six months or so, but I'm now an official volunteer in Davita's "village greeter" program. Primarily what I do is greet new patients, give advise about my experiences with home dialysis to staff and patients, and other similar things. If a patient want's to talk about something about their experience, but they want to only talk with another patient, I'm there to talk to them. I'm finding that this is a perfect opportunity for home dialysis advocacy because I work with the in-centre patients as well as the home patients. There are things about Davita that I don't like, but I think this volunteer program is an awesome idea, despite it's corny name. I guess I'm sipping a little of that "Duh-vita kool-aid", but oh well. I want to be able to actually work in a dialysis centre, and maybe this volunteering will help me reach that goal.

Adam

-Diagnosed with ESRD (born with one kidney, hypertension killed it) Jan 21st, 2007
-Started dialysis four days later in hospital (Baxter 1550-I think, then Gambro Phoenix)
-Started in-centre dialysis Feb 6th 2007 (Fres. 2008H)