I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 08, 2024, 11:19:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Transplant Discussion
| | |-+  second donor rejected
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: second donor rejected  (Read 2656 times)
staceyand joe92

« on: December 28, 2008, 10:44:11 PM »

I just found out that my second living donor was rejected for medical reasons.  I have one more living donor to be tested.    I am feeling much better physically since I began dialysis , but emotionally I am exhausted. I feel like I get my hopes up for a living donor transplant just to have them dashed at the last minute.  My brother has signed up for paired donation because he is not my blood type but is a willing donor.  I'm glad I have a place to vent and get good info. Thanks for everyones support.

EDITED:Moved to transplant stories section-kitkatz,Moderator
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 01:14:45 PM by kitkatz » Logged

PKD
in center dialysis 3/week 3 hours for 16 months
11/2008 transplant list (active)
6 living donors denied
12/2009 Kidney Transplant
RichardMEL
Member for Life

« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2008, 10:58:23 PM »

:grouphug;

I can relate to how you are feeling. I had my brother rejected due to being a 0 match and then my sister who is a 3/6 match got through 90% of the tests and was, too, denied on medical grounds (her SLIGHTLY raised blood pressure).  Certainly at the time it seemed like the hopes had been getting higher and higher as each test was passed with flying colours and we were getting more and more confident. That was 18 months or so ago.