I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 07, 2024, 09:28:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Symptoms
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Symptoms  (Read 2976 times)
Hope

Flipping off kidney disease since 2008

« on: July 20, 2008, 12:32:34 AM »

Hi guys,

Newbie here... I've been doing a lot of research on kidney failure and was dissapointed in what most websites list as "symptoms" of kidney disease. When I found this site, I read a few threads from members about RLS or leg cramps, but (If I remember correctly) everyone who experienced these symptoms said they started to experience it after they started dialysis. My friend was diagnosed with ESRD a couple of weeks ago, but he was expriencing SEVERE muscles cramps, usually at night, sometimes 3 to 4 times a night, before he learned of his condition and started dialysis. He also had random hiccups that would last for at least an hour, usually long after he had something to eat or drink. Then, just as randomly and suddenly as they came, they would dissapear. It just didn't make sense to me. I researched hiccups and muscle cramps/spasms and none of the websites mentioned anything about kidney failure. Anyway, If this question has been asked already, I apologize... I tried to read every thread but holy hell, that would take a year. How many of you experienced muscle spasms and/or frequent hiccups prior to starting dialysis? I'd say 98% of the websites I searched did not list these as kidney failure symptoms. So I'm wondering if these symptoms are uncommon?