I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 07, 2024, 01:25:10 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Dr. Agar's Concept Again Proven Correct in First Stage Test
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dr. Agar's Concept Again Proven Correct in First Stage Test  (Read 2758 times)
obsidianom
Elite Member

« on: April 29, 2014, 09:52:54 AM »

Those of you who have read Dr. Agar's writings or my posts about them have seen that there are 3 main points he makes that are key to quality dialysis.
1. Time on machine. A minimum of 10% total time or at least 16.8 hours per week. (17)
2. UF rate at less then 10ml /kg / hour  (best at 5 ml/kg/hour)
3. Blood speed at 350 or less

Now as a doctor I realize that 1 patient proves nothing. However 1 patient combined with hundreds or more of Dr. Agars patients can be a good bet.
I decided to experiment with my wife to see if Dr. Agars theories work for her.
Backround: we have done 5 days per week on Nxstage for almost 2 years. In the past it was around 15.5 hours per week. Not too bad but not the magic number of 17.   Doing this she did well compared to in center but there was one issue. On the day after her day off dialysis she woke up each time feeling poorly and uremic. The morning until dialysis was hard on her.      Example: Dialysis Sunday, then off Monday. Tuesday morning feeling sick until dialysis in afternoon. This has gone on for almost 2 years despite moving Sunday dialysis to after noon .