I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 07, 2024, 10:29:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Working while on Dialysis
| | |-+  cooks/chefs on HD ???
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: cooks/chefs on HD ???  (Read 5536 times)
Barry

« on: July 02, 2012, 04:50:47 AM »

I have Been a cook/chef my entire working Career started washing dishes at 16 and have over the years worked my way up head chef . Does anyone here work in the restaurant industry especially in the Kitchen while doing in center dialysis My doctor this it is a bad idea for me to return with the heat stress physical demands of the job etc. Just wondering if anyone out there has successfully done both dialysis and slave away in a kitchen for 12 hours a day if so how did it work for you.
cariad
Elite Member

What's past is prologue

« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 09:47:00 AM »

Barry, I cannot think of anyone on here who is a chef specifically, though I certainly don't know everyone's story. However, I do know that certain members on here have done some pretty amazing things on dialysis. Usually home dialysis, pd or hemo, allows them to continue to lead extraordinary lives, but as far as I know, Zach has been on in-centre hemo for his entire 30 years (!!!!!) of dialysis. If you want to work as a chef, I would not let one nephrologist's opinion hold you back. I know it's a grueling profession, but maybe you could find a way to make it a little less taxing. Could you work in a cafe or similar with shorter hours and less intensity? Be a co-head chef, alternating with another person who wants to work part-time? Maybe others will have better ideas.

Good luck!

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a great battle. - Philo of Alexandria