I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 04, 2024, 10:22:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  big decision ive been avoiding for 7 years
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: big decision ive been avoiding for 7 years  (Read 2829 times)
gkcoley

« on: February 29, 2012, 08:31:58 PM »

Okay, ive been on dialysis since i was 7 and im 24, ive had 2 failed transplants and the one i had in 05 i was in hospital 6 months.  My first transplant when i was 6 rejected in less than 2 weeks but the one in 2005 when i was 18 i went through plasma furesis for 6 weeks before the transplant, it worked beautiful, no rejection it was beautiful...then it got the BK virus and shut down, killed the kidney dead.  I have been off the transplant list for the past 7 years.  Now my doctor at my new unit has, for lack of a better term, has been harassing me about getting back on the list.  I see the pros and cons and even the possability that i wouldnt ever get a call.  I am a very high reactor with 2 failed transplants and i dunno if i could take a 3rd failure.  Allso, as far as i know BK virus doesnt go away and isnt cureable so whose to say a new one wouldnt get attacked by the virus too?  I was jsut wondering yalls thoughts on the situation.  Thanks.

-Greg  :stressed;

addition, anybody who si curious here is BK virus link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BK_virus
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 09:30:25 PM by gkcoley » Logged

There's No Smile Of An Angel Without The Wrath Of God
Lillupie

wedding 12-10-11

« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 09:18:59 PM »

What exactly is the BK virus?

Lisa

Check out my Facebook profile for CKD "Help Lisa Spread Awareness for Kidney Disease"