I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 06, 2024, 05:30:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Question
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Question  (Read 2927 times)
tiredandthirsty

« on: April 10, 2012, 12:41:17 PM »

Hi all,

i have a rather embarrassing question for the learned and experienced folks in here.  I get really gassy sometimes after the treatment.  i mean it HURTS!  i do eat lunch before i go to the clinic.  so it's not like i am on empty stomach.  after a LOT of involuntary (sort of) air release from the front orifice as well as the back, it finally starts to feel normal. after quite a while.  and i am miserable until this happens.

anyone else have this issue?  anything i can do?  sorry if this is tmi.  but it is the truth after all :-)
iketchum

« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 12:52:47 PM »

I have been doing dialysis for 4 years and, between the meds and treatment, have bad gas. Quick trip to the restroom before leaving the center gets me home okay.  :2thumbsup;
Cordelia
Elite Member

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2012, 12:53:00 PM »

What form of dialysis are you doing? 

I know when I get out of the chair after 3 and 3/4 of an hour, I am pretty gassy. I burp immediately when my chair comes forward. And, afterwards, I toot a lot.  It's like all that gas is pent up in me when I'm reclined in that stupid chair. Once I stand, oh boy, I have to be careful. It's embarrassing!         :sir ken;

I think its also medication. Lots of different kinds of meds can make you gassy. Renagel and my high blood pressure med causes a lot of gas.

Check your meds.....you could be on some meds that might make you gassy.