I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 09, 2024, 09:22:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Lost Volume?
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Lost Volume?  (Read 1899 times)
CHeatherS

« on: April 20, 2011, 08:06:11 PM »

I am new at this, what, 2 weeks at home manual exchange dialysis.  So usually I have more volume on my drain than what I filled.  But tonight I had a LOT less.  I am scratching my head, thinking, where the heck did it go?  In one afternoon did my body absorb it?  Is this normal?  It kinda shocked me. 

I guess I don't totally understand all of the dynamics.  I am thinking "filtering out the waste" more than anything else, as I haven't had much of a problem with edema, but I am thinking, was I dehydrated and so my body balanced it out? 

Thanks, I need some education here, heh.

Heather
jeannea
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 10:16:33 PM »

I do the overnight cycler and I'm often absorbing fluid. I never know why I have an initial drain one day of 60 mL and the next day of 1060 mL. If you're really worried you can ask your PD nurse but I think you're ok.
CHeatherS

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 10:33:02 PM »

Thanks Jeannea..... I am just going along here as if I know what I am doing.....  but that took me off guard.  I have a lot to learn.  Next month I go on the night cycler too.
cath-hater

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2011, 10:33:24 PM »