I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 04, 2024, 10:21:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Newbie and overwhelmed...
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Newbie and overwhelmed...  (Read 3742 times)
Lovebelle

« on: October 14, 2010, 02:02:43 PM »

Hello all...I am completely new to this and am sitting here writing this from my room at the hospital. I am 31 and have had hypertension since I was 19yrs old. They never could figure out why and to this day I am not sure why they didnt look further into my history. Anyway, my BP has been fairly under control over the years until recently. As part of my routine work up my physician ordered labs and a kidney ultrasound. My ultrasound showed a cyst on my right and that both kidneys were very small. Later I went and had my labs drawn and my creatinine was at 7.9 and BUN 79. My doctor scheduled me with a nephrologist but in the meantime ordered repeat labs and my creatinine went up to 8.9. After conferring I was direct admitted to the hospital yesterday and it has been a whirlwind!

I received a Quentin catheter placed in my neck and received my first treatment of dialysis. It was a "gentle" round and lasted only 2 hrs, but in the last 10 minutes I experienced the worst leg cramps of my life. Needless to say I was terrified to go to dialysis again today for 3 hrs and experienced cramping again. I am terrified to go to dialysis again because the cramping is unbelievable. Tomorrow Im suppose to go into surgery to get a PD catheter placed and a fistual formed for backup. I havent slept more than 20 minutes at a time since yesterday and am OVERWHELMED as this is alot being thrown at me at once.