I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 06, 2024, 05:25:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  Angiogram
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Angiogram  (Read 4720 times)
Jean
Member for Life

« on: June 13, 2010, 12:21:52 AM »

I did research this, but can't find the answer. I am in stage 4, and on Monday am going in to see the Cardio guy for either a stress test or an angiogram. So, my question is, is it the angiogram dye that kills off your kidney function? Will I have the choice of which one I get to do, the angiogram or the stress test? Even tho I did have one heart attack, I only saw cardio once, for surgery clearance, so I am very new to this field
As always, thanks ahead of time for your input.

One day at a time, thats all I can do.
Rerun
Member for Life

Going through life tied to a chair!

« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 01:53:24 AM »

Yes, the contrast dye killed off my kidneys.  But, if you can still drink 8-10 glasses of water and wash it out that would be great.  I was already on dialysis and peeing but after that I stopped peeing.

Maybe they have new dye by now?

Take the stress test over the heart cath.

iketchum

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 03:55:42 AM »

I recently had a cat scan where they used the contrast dye. My neph said they would dialyse it out right afterwards when I had my treatment.
RightSide
Elite Member

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2010, 05:03:55 PM »

The angiogram contrast dye can be nephrotoxic.  There is about a 3% chance that it will destroy your remaining residual kidney function.