I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 06, 2024, 05:40:37 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: F.A.Q. (Frequently Asked Questions)
| | |-+  pros and cons of buttonholes
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: pros and cons of buttonholes  (Read 6778 times)
lorna

« on: November 09, 2010, 02:18:52 AM »

Im sure there is another post about the same thing i just cant seem to find it! I was just wondering what are you good/ bad experiences with button holes and if you have any advice? Im fairly new to hemo and many of my nurses are telling me i need to develop button holes but im not really thrilled with the idea. I have heard many peoples complaints about them and to be honest the nurse who would be developing them and needling me all the time is not one who i enjoy having! So any advice would be so helpfull! thanks!
Bruno

TOFF (typical old Fart)

« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 02:37:28 AM »

Button Holes are the way to go. You get to use blunts instead of sharps and they don't hurt nearly as much and stopping the bleeding at the end of your session takes 10 minutes instead of up to 30 minutes for each site.
My nurse convinced me by saying it was the same system you use to get your ears pierced.
I've never heard a single complaint...at my centre it's regarded as the Rolls Royce of access techniques and the exception would only be those who could not use it...goretex fistulas etc.
monrein
Member for Life

Might as well smile

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 04:31:11 AM »