I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 10, 2024, 04:31:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: Centers
| | |-+  Dialysis Center Roles
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Dialysis Center Roles  (Read 6041 times)
YLGuy
Elite Member

« on: June 04, 2009, 03:30:34 PM »

I am sure each dialysis center is different but i am sure somewhat similar.  I am still new at this.  I am trying to figure out the different roles at the center.  I see what I would call techs the most.  They seat me and get the supplies, take my weight and BP. (does anyone know what kind of training is required for this position?)  Then because I have a catheter, they yell "catheter" and I believe an RN comes over to hook me up and disconnect me.  There seems to be a supervisor who is also is an RN.  Once in a while my neph strolls through the center and talks to me for a minute or two.  I then speak with a social worker who has helped me with dealing with insurance, bills and getting my meds.  I was told that they usually have a dietician but I have not seen one ever.  (Once in the hospital I talked to one). 

Anything anyone can tell me about the different roles/training needed/who to speak to about what at a dialysis center?

EDITED:Moved to centers area-kitkatz,moderator
« Last Edit: June 13, 2009, 04:18:51 PM by kitkatz » Logged
Phraxis

« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2009, 07:10:59 PM »