I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 22, 2024, 08:21:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Dialysis Discussion
| |-+  Dialysis: General Discussion
| | |-+  can a newbie choose PD
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: can a newbie choose PD  (Read 3160 times)
RightSide
Elite Member

« on: October 11, 2008, 09:39:02 PM »

I'm a newbie (GFR 13).  My nephrologist wants me to start dialysis as soon as possible.  He only talked about hemodialysis at a dialysis center.  He never mentioned any home dialysis options, such as peritoneal dialysis (PD).

Is that because PD is unsuitable for newbies till their condition stabilizes?  Or should I ask him about it?  PD sounds so much more compatible with my lifestyle that I really wish I could go that route.  I have an entire room of my home available to store whatever equipment would be required.

P.S.  I really apologize for asking so many damn fool questions!  But "PD for newbies" is a topic I haven't seen addressed anywhere on the Internet.
Ang
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2008, 11:14:45 PM »

RS

if  your  yet  to  start  dialysis,  ask  your  neph  the  pros  and  cons  to  either  and  make  a  decision  on  which  should  be best  for  you.

you  can  always  swap  if  need  be

sit  down  and  write  your  questions  out  so  your  prepared  when  you  go  see  your  neph.

good  luck  with  it  all.

live  life  to  the  full  and you won't  die  wondering
Joe Paul
Elite Member

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2008, 12:45:50 AM »

RS
if  your  yet  to  start  dialysis,  ask  your  neph  the  pros  and  cons  to  either  and  make  a  decision  on  which  should  be best  for  you.
you  can  always  swap  if  need  be