I Hate Dialysis Message Board
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 01:47:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
532606 Posts in 33561 Topics by 12678 Members
Latest Member: astrobridge
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  I Hate Dialysis Message Board
|-+  Introduction
| |-+  Introduce Yourself
| | |-+  Hello, I'm Kathy
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hello, I'm Kathy  (Read 2793 times)
Rainsbury

« on: April 23, 2019, 03:51:20 PM »

Hello All. I’ve been hovering around this helpful site for about 5 years now. I’ve known that I was headed for kidney failure since that time. I’ve been sticking to a kidney-friendly diet and I think it’s helped to stave the inevitable off a bit, but it’s getting closer to the time to begin dialysis.
I was on lithium for a number of years to treat bipolar disorder and my kidneys were affected by the toxicity of the medication. In the last decade or so I’ve been on another much more effective drug, but the damage had been done.
I live with a longtime friend who is very supportive of me and has attended many medical appointments. I really appreciate his support. I also have an awesome cat.
As I gear up for the peritoneal catheter surgery and the start of this major life-change, I’m a little freaked out and concerned that I’ll be able to take this in stride once I learn he mechanics of how to do this. I know my attitude will have a lot to do with how well my body adjusts.
A big thanks to those of you who contribute to this site. I’ve learned so much and it’s helped to normalize a frightening change of circumstances.
Peace,
Kathy

Katherine

Stage 4, Pre-dialysis

"Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible."
- Francis of Assisi
Michael Murphy
Elite Member

« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019, 07:04:01 PM »